It was originally formed as the Department of Health in 1919 and later became part of the Department of Pensions and National Health. That Department was replaced in 1944 by the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Department of Veterans Affairs.

The Department, headed by the Minister of National Health and Welfare, is composed of three branches—Administration, Health and Welfare—and is administered by two Deputy Ministers.

The Department has charge of all matters relating to the promotion or preservation of the health, social security and social welfare of the people of Canada over which the Federal Parliament has jurisdiction. It administers the Acts listed in Sect. 4, p. 153, and is also responsible for: the administration of the National Health Program under which grants are made available to the provinces for the development and extension of health services; the federal aspects of emergency health and welfare services; health and safety in the peaceful uses of atomic energy and other sources of radiation affecting the population; the provision of health, medical and hospital services; the Indians and Eskimos and to other elements of the population in the Yukon and Northwest Territories; the provision of assistance and consultative services to the provinces upon request on blindness control, child and maternal health, environmental health, mental health, dental health, nursing, medical rehabilitation, bacteriology, virology, parasitology and clinical chemistry, zoonoses, nutrition and health facilities design; the inspection and medical care of immigrants and seamen and the administration of marine hospitals; the supervision of public health facilities on railway, water and other forms of transportation; the promotion and conservation of the health of government employees; the collection, public health; improved sanitation and social and industrial conditions affecting the health of Canadians. It co-ordinates and assists international welfare activities in which Canada is engaged and administers and assiste international welfare research and general welfare services.

National Library.—The National Library came formally into existence on Jan. 1, 1953, with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1952, c. 330). It publishes *Canadiana*, a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada, with an annual cumulation. The Library also publishes other bibliographies. Its Reference Division maintains the *National Union Catalogue*, which embodies the author catalogues of the major libraries in the ten provinces and is thus a key to the book collections of the whole country. Its book collection is growing steadily and at the end of 1965 consisted of over 300,000 volumes. The National Librarian reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

National Parole Board.—The establishment of the National Parole Board, which was formed in January 1959, is authorized by the Parole Act (SC 1958, c. 38) by which it is given absolute jurisdiction over all matters of parole. It is composed of a chairman and four members appointed by Order in Council for a ten-year period. The Board reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General of Canada.

Department of National Revenue.—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Ercise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise and, under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as of sales and excise taxes. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes, gift tax, old age security tax, Part I of the Canada Pension Plan, and estate taxes for Canada and all provinces, except Quebec, through its 29 district taxation offices and its Taxation Data Centre.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Tax Appeal Board.

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1960, c. 39, and amendments thereto), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer is responsible directly to Parliament, the Secretary of State acting as spokesman for him in the Cabinet and the House of Commons.

Office of the Comptroller of the Treasury.—The Comptroller of the Treasury is an officer of the Department of Finance appointed by the Governor in Council. Under the authority of the Financial Administration Act, he has the statutory responsibility of ensuring that no payment out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund is made for a purpose not authorized by or in excess of an amount appropriated by Parliament and that all relevant executive regulations are observed. For this